RSS

A Challenging Challenge

18 Aug

A new challenge has come my way courtesy of Tanya over at Chicandaluza.Thank you and l hope not to disappoint.

The rules are that I should have published a link related to the categories I´ll mention below, and that I should pass the challenge on to at least 5 other bloggers. Mmmm…this is out of my comfort zone but then l suppose that makes it all the more challenging. This is also difficult because most of my posts are on a set theme ie. a weekly post based on the advice written by Mr Middleton with comparisons to my garden so l suppose its the best of the bunch.

Deep breath, yoga breathing, count to ten, here goes……

The Most Beautiful Post: This award has to go to June- 4th WEEK. A few reasons why this post stands out for me because a) we had our son and his girlfriend stay with us that week and, although the weather wasn’t up to much, we got out and saw things together including La Roche Jagu which is just up the road, and b) it was when everything in the garden and the countryside was at its absolute best. May and June are such fantastic months to be outside and the garden was still full of hope and anticipation.

The Most Popular: Mmm, l suppose this has to go to Last Day of July. I had just got back from the UK and was full of self-doubt as whether or not l should continue with this blog. I was totally amazed at the responses l got asking me to continue. Your comments meant a huge amount to me and, even though l don’t really know any of you, l’m sure if we met in ‘real’ life we would be the best of friends.

The Most Controversial: Difficult one this as l try not to be too controversial here on, what is essentially, a gardening blog but the post that comes closest to controversy must be my criticism of the Chelsea Flower Show on Our Little Chelsea Flower Show. Ha!

The Most Helpful: It’s always nice to get feedback on any post but particularly nice when you ask for some help because then you know people out there have actually read my problems. So this has to go to June-3rd WEEK for when l asked help on protecting my carrots. I’ll be honest now, l still haven’t given them any protection and there isn’t a trace of carrot fly in sight.


The Post That Was Surprisingly Successful:
As most of you know, l love cooking and will try my hand at most things, apart from pigs trotters! So when l tried my hand at bread-making again and posted it on Bread Making it really got me fired up to get back into the fine art of baking. So l suppose you can say that by posting it on my blog then, yes, it was a success for me.

The Post That Did Not Get The Attention It Deserved: Ohhh, another difficult one because of reasons already stated. This being a gardening blog there is a wartime theme that runs alongside and now and again l will include historic moments that are relevant to that day. The D-Day landings was such a post and although l got some great responses to it l feel it is one of those dates that bypasses a lot of people but should really be better remembered.


The Post I Am Most Proud Of:
this is a no brainer. It has to go to my latest post My Sourdough- Creator of Life. I was so pleased with the results on a first attempt and that l had kept a photographic record of it so l could share it with everyone else. I often find myself doing something and regretting l hadn’t taken any photos. Yes, the sourdough is a small triumph for me.

Well, in the words of Bugs Bunny ‘That’s All Folks!’ It just leaves me to nominate 5 other bloggers. I have to admit to being a bit lazy when it comes to following others so l don’t have lots to choose from but lets see:

Plot 52

Plantalicious

Two Chances Veg Plot

The Anxious Gardener

Ramblings From Rosebank

The gloves are off. Time to take up the challenge!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2011 in August

 

Tags:

7 responses to “A Challenging Challenge

  1. elaine rickett

    August 18, 2011 at 19:39

    I’m not sure whether to thank you or shoot you. I suppose this means I am going to have to go through everything I’ve done. Although I haven’t been up and running as long as the other nominees. I’ll give it a go.

     
    • trevorhunt

      August 18, 2011 at 22:43

      Sorry Elaine, l forgot your blog was still quite young. Still, give it a shot. Good luck!

       
  2. chicaandaluza

    August 18, 2011 at 19:41

    Yay! So glad you too up the challenge and it was nice to go back and re read some of your posts. I agree with what you chose – especially the Sourdough and the D-Day landings. I am going to check out the posts you nominated now. Hope all is going well re the move etc. Take care!

     
    • trevorhunt

      August 18, 2011 at 22:45

      Thanks Tanya, very hectic here, so much to do and organise, move in little over 3 weeks, Stay Calm and Carry On springs to mind.

       
  3. greg becker

    August 18, 2011 at 23:02

    Trevor, thank you for passing on the challenging challenge. My main challenge at the moment is trying not to get distracted from work by doing my blog, but I will try to do my bit.

     
    • trevorhunt

      August 19, 2011 at 09:12

      I fully understand Greg. It took me a couple of days of going back to it before l finished. Only 3 weeks before we leave here so no more challenges from anyone else please!!

       
  4. theanxiousgardener

    August 22, 2011 at 07:56

    Hmm. Thanks a lot Trevor! Only just seen this – will have a good, long, hard think ……

     

Leave a Reply

 
