RSS

A New Life

27 Sep

Firstly, a big thank you to all who have welcomed me back to Blighty. It has been a long and tiring few weeks trying to organise everything and move countries but we have done it and, boy, is it great to be back!

I must be honest l haven’t had a lot of time to think about this blog but l do feel that by trying to continue with it whilst we only have a tiny courtyard size garden, would be defeating the whole point of what l set out to achieve. That is not to say l am going to totally abandon it, no, l will come back from time to time but my life now is here in England and until we move into our own house l feel another blog to document that would be far better than trying to keep a wartime gardening theme running along side it.

With that in mind l will set up another blog. It will follow my life and all that may bring! Question is do l use Blogger or WordPress? Both have pros and cons but l envisage a lot of photos and links so unsure. Your thoughts and experiences would be appreciated.

Well, they say a heatwave will soon be upon us and l suppose at this time of the year we can call that an Indian Summer. Better late than never! I will be harvesting some of these wonderful hedgerows over the coming days.

My next post will give a link to my new blog so until then thanks again and l hope to see you on the other side!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2011 in September

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “A New Life

  1. Janet/Plantaliscious

    September 27, 2011 at 17:23

    A new blog for a new life – makes sense! Just as long as you keep blogging…

    As to the blogger vs. wordpress debate, for me it is wordpress every time, there are plenty of themes that handle photographs well, and you get threaded comments, allowing you to have “conversations” with people rather than having to do the whole “Trevor: I really hate Dorset, Janet: I really hate you…” type thing. Plus I never hear people complaining about wordpress.com going down or wiping out their blog, whereas it happens to blogger bods…

    Mind you, I am self-hosted so have access to more groovy tools and greater control. You know the free version rather better than me, and hence the downsides of it!

    Good luck house-hunting, and in the mean time, enjoy the hedgerows and the beer!

     
  2. Dawn

    September 27, 2011 at 17:46

    Look forward to seeing your new look blog … and yes the Indian Summer is definitely here this week – we are just along the coast frmo Dorset in Hampshire. Hope you settle in well and good luck with your house hunting.

    No real opinion on blogger vs wordpress – but I’m not into all the techie tools, etc so blogger suits me fine … for now anyway.

     
  3. chicaandaluza

    September 27, 2011 at 18:23

    Hi Trevor and good to see your post. I have used blogspot (is that the same as blogger?) and wordpress is by far better. Think it´s a great idea to start a new blog – looking forward to seeing it up and running. Will you be the Hugh FW of the neighbourhood now after foraging in the hedgerows?! Take care, Tanya

     
  4. Toffeeapple

    September 27, 2011 at 19:03

    It would make sense to have a different blog as Janet says. I don’t have a blog but I do read a lot of them and notice that many people are having problems with Blogger either losing their posts or not accepting comments or pictures not loading properly. Looking forward to whichever you choose so that I can read about your new life back in Blighty.

     
  5. elaine rickett

    September 27, 2011 at 23:35

    Hi Trevor – sad to say goodbye to Mr. Middleton – will it be for ever? Whatever the outcome I am sure I will enjoy whatever you come up with.

     
  6. anxiousgardener

    September 28, 2011 at 08:12

    I use Blogger only because I searched blogging on Google before I first set up my blog. Google owns Blogger so guess what came up first!! I would certainly use WordPress given the choice again. I’ve had some really infuriating problems with Blogger – though thankfully none for a few months now. I can’t decide now whether it’s worth transferring over to WordPress (I have opened an account with the latter) but given the trouble I’m having trying to transfer to my own domain I’m tempted to stay put.

    Sorry – that’s a bit rushed as I have to dash off to work. Hope it makes sense…..

    Dave

     
  7. Nip it in the bud

    September 28, 2011 at 17:01

    I don’t recall why I chose WP over Blogger all those years ago but I’ve been very happy with my choice. As you already use WP I’d say stick with it as it could prove frustrating and time consuming if you used Blogger for your new site and had problems with it.

     
  8. Jono / Real Men Sow

    October 4, 2011 at 13:46

    Welcome back!

    Dorset is so beautiful, look forward to reading your tales.

    I’d start a new blog. Fresh beginning and all that.

    I use WordPress and would definitely recommend it over Blogger. Its so much more felxible and intuitive, and there are no end of useful, neat plug ins to add to your blog layout.

    Dead easy to install too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
